Blender for fun, maybe for work

Tsubasa Shiraishi
3 min readDec 14, 2023

This is the day 14 article of GMOペパボデザイナー Advent Calendar 2023 🎄

A lot of people has become very familiar with 3D graphic now.
Blender, a 3D modelling tool, has especially lowered the threshold for creation.

The first time I used it was back in 2020.
My co-worker introduced me to blender and taught me its basic usage.

Here is my very, very first work, “Chikuwa”.

chikuwa (very artistic)

Since then, I’m fascinated by the appeal of creating graphics in 3D and continue to produce them on my own.

In this article, I will try to explain why I got into blender.

The first reason is unique look of depth and realism.
This is not specific to Blender but back in 2020, 3DCG was starting to trend in many fields. Not only in architecture, movies, and games but it was also started to be used in UI and graphic design.
It’s even more widespread now, but at that time the expression with depth and an interesting mix of impossible but realistic-looking scenarios were so fresh to me.

The second reason is multiple expressions with one model.
When you make a 3D graphic, you can experiment with multiple expressions with just one model and this process is really different from 2D.
For example, when I made this office design, I could completely change the atmosphere of the picture just by changing the lighting or focal lengths.
I could also use various camera angles to capture different parts of the office just like taking a picture.

The third reason is the easy enhancement of detail.
It’s really hard to do this transparent look like glasses, water, and ice in 2D but with 3DCG, it is easier to create this kind of complex visuals with a higher level of detail.
When I made these graphics, I experimented with a lot of properties, like roughness, metallic, and transparency.

Lastly, dynamic animation with simple key frames.
I made these two works with very simple key frames, the left one is just transforming camera position and the right one is rotating the lighting.
Even with these simple key frame animations, you can create dynamic and eye-catching visuals.

Recently, I’ve had a few opportunities to do some 3D modelling for work.
I made some promotional materials for SUZURI using 3D graphics and models in Blender.

We can do more with Blender or 3DCG.

Realistic visual can be very effective in the field of e-commerce, so in the future I want to try something like creating a virtual space where you can shop for SUZURI goods and experience the realistic texture and size of the items.

With 3D, you can also make something impossible to express in the real world, so I want to keep trying various expressions with Blender, such as sculpting, complex animation, and simulations.

If this article makes you interested in Blender, you can try it for FREE!

Thank you for reading! Have nice holidays~🦌

--

--